Skip to content

Not Quite New But Improved

July 1, 2013
New website design.

New website design.

I’ve been working on a subtle re-design for my portfolio website, heatherleebirdsong.com. I launched it a few days ago, but finally have most of the kinks worked out. The above image is a screen shot from my currently in-process Geometries project. This page is likely to see a lot of updates in the next few months, so feel free to bookmark it and check back occasionally.

I’m reading The King of Infinite Space: Euclid and His Elements by David Berlinski. In addition to being an enjoyable read, it’s helping me distill and clarify my ideas concerning Geometries. I’m working on writing an introduction for the unbound book I will eventually produce. The first bit that really struck a chord for me is this:

“…the theorems of an axiomatic system follow from its axioms… The image is physical, as when a bruise follows a blow, but the connection is metaphorical. The relationship between the axioms and the theorems of an axiomatic system is, when metaphors are discarded, remarkably recondite…”

-David Berlinski, The King of Infinite Space: Euclid and His Elements, p. 14

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2013 11:00 pm

    Even though some of Berlinski’s criticisms of Euclid are ridiculously academic (to paraphrase: his system isn’t really so clean and logical because he never addresses the use of a compass), I still found it a stimulating read. I was disappointed to learn that David Berlinski doesn’t believe in evolution, and that he uses similarly ridiculous linguistic nit-picking to justify his disbelief. I suppose that’s the joy of being a philosopher: you can ignore scientific data and focus on abstract thinking.

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers