New item: Buffalo Jump

I just listed a new item on my Smidgeon Press Etsy shop.  I made this print a few years ago, and have been meaning to get it up for sale on Etsy since I opened my store.  I only have two (make that one!) of these left for sale; it was printed in an edition of five, and four of them belong to others already.

Buffalo Jump etching with aquatint and spitbite

The subject matter for this print is a little dark, but that’s not unusual in my work.  I find that I keep coming back to the theme of death and mourning.  This is, after all, why I have a tattoo on my chest styled after a piece of Victorian memento mori jewelry.  The rhythm of life is steadily interrupted by deaths, sometimes shockingly unexpected, and sometimes expected.  The truth is that death is part of the rhythm of life, for what meaning would life have without it?

This is one of my favorite pieces that I have made.  I’ve always intended to revisit these plates and experiment with them, push them further and maybe incorporate some tedious chine collé into another edition.  But when I look at the plates, I find it hard to start on them again.  They are heavy with history.

Though it is that very heaviness, the weight of sincerity, that makes this beautiful for me.

So, here it is, up for sale, at a bargain of a price for all the effort and emotion that went into it.

2 thoughts on “New item: Buffalo Jump

  1. I love that you explain where your thought pattern has begun, arrived, and grown. I think this takes courage for an artist. Keep the prints going. Nell

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

