Albrecht Dürer: Portrait of the artist as an entrepreneur (from the Economist)

Self-portrait by Albrecht Dürer, 1500.

“How the greatest figure of the northern Renaissance invented a new business model.”

In an age where every artist is an entrepreneur (thanks to sites like Etsy, ArtFlock, Society6 and MANY others), this is a nice bit of history.  I’m also an admirer of Dürer’s incredibly beautiful prints, a handful of which I’ve had the pleasure to see in person at the Portland Art Museum.  My favorite (that I have seen in person) is The Monstrous Sow of Landser, or the St. John with Seven Candlesticks woodcut.

A few weeks ago, I read an article from the New York Times about “Generation Sell,” where a Portlander offers up his opinion of the apparently milquetoast political attitudes of today’s youth. (I still qualify for that category, don’t I?  Or does that end at 25?)  That article struck a chord with me, about this path I’m on to find a lifestyle that is more satisfying and self-determining than the specialty retail world I worked in for nine years. To read the insightful NY Times piece, click here.

Now… to sleep and do some stunningly useful work tomorrow. Stay tuned for print progress.

One thought on “Albrecht Dürer: Portrait of the artist as an entrepreneur (from the Economist)

  1. Thanks posting. The next MAPC’s theme is “Pressing Prints/Pressing Palms: The Entrepreneurial Printmaker”. That should be an interesting conference. MAPC also has a wordpress site. I haven’t been the best about utilizing online means of commerce. I need to get on that!

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

