Dorothea Tanning, 1910–2012

Jerry Saltz on Dorothea Tanning, 1910–2012 — Vulture.

I would like to take a moment to remember Dorothea Tanning, who just passed away at the ripe age of 101.  I’ve long admired her wit, sense of humor, paintings, and (my favorite) her thoughts on being an artist who happens to have been born female.  Why are we still saddled with the label “woman artist”?  Can’t we just be artists?

Tanning’s Birthday painting is one of my favorites, and it’s a goal of mine to see it in person.  It was one of the few influential works that I discussed in my thesis paper at PNCA.

That is all I’m going to say, because so many others will say whatever else I could wish much more eloquently.  I’ll leave you instead with an interview from 1990 that I quite like:

Dorothea Tanning by Carlo McCormick – BOMB 33/Fall 1990.

Birthday by Dorothea Tanning
Birthday by Dorothea Tanning, 1942. In the collection of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
3 thoughts on “Dorothea Tanning, 1910–2012

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

