Ready, Set: Mixer Match

I Heart Art: Portland, Oregon

I Heart Art is kicking off another Mixer Match for Visual Artists and Galleries!  The Mixer Match will happen on April 25th, starting at 6pm.

Twenty local art dealers will meet individually with participating artists for TWO MINUTES each.  It’s an excellent (if a bit nerve-wracking) opportunity to refine and polish how you pitch your art, connect with galleries, as well as meet other early- and mid-career artists here in Portland.  Once you’ve pitched your portfolio twenty times in one night, it doesn’t seem like such a daunting feat!

I participated last year as one of the artists, and the process certainly helped me streamline how I present my portfolio and gain confidence when talking about my work.  This year, I have applied to participate from the other side, as an experienced  Superstar and representative of the gallery I work for.  I will also make an appearance at the Mixer Match orientation on April 18th as an alumni Mixer, to help answer questions and concerns from first-time participants.

You have until March 30th to submit an application (as a gallery representative or as an artist).  For more information about the event and where to submit, read Are You Ready to Mix and Match.

I’m looking forward to it, and hope to see you there.

I’d also like to extend my thanks to Deenie Wallace of Jubilant Glass & Art, who got me into this whole mess the first time around (and this time, too).  She is a creative inspiration, consummate small-business professional, and an inimitable friend.

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

