Absit Omen

Absit Omen by Miss Birdsong
Absit Omen, a photo by Miss Birdsong on Flickr.

This is what I’ve been up to! It’s the first time in a few years that I’ve used two plates to make one print, but the process was easier than I remember. Of course, I didn’t branch out much with the colors, so any accidents are less visible than if I had chosen very different colors–and I had Daniel to assist in the role of “clean hands”.

The central image is printed in a warm black (Daniel Smith vine black), and the crow border is printed in a cool black (Gamblin Portland Cool Black). The effect is subtle, but I like it. I tried it the other way around the first time, and it just didn’t look right.

I love this print, but there is a little more that I think I will do to the second plate (the central image). I should have that done by the end of the week, if my paper supply holds out.

3 thoughts on “Absit Omen

  1. Nice print! I really enjoy the subtle value variations in border of crows. They both stand out as individual elements and remain a dark connected frame around the center image. Is the piece inspired by a story?

    1. Thank you! It was actually inspired by a dream, which is a kind of story, I suppose. In my waking life, I was working on some plates using imagery from my dreams as source material, and one night, I dreamed that I was working on a plate that had a border of dark, aquatinted crow heads. In the dream, I was composing the image in the center. It was the first time I’ve ever dreamed about working an image on copper, so I felt obligated to make it real.

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

