A Question for all the Printmakers:

Do you know if gray chine-collé paper exists, and if it does, where I can get my hands on some?

I’m working on this etching, and it would look amazing with a gray chine-collé.  Just aquatinting that area is out of the question because I’m printing in red ink, and I don’t want the texture of an aquatint anyway.  I suppose I could make a stencil and try a surface roll (because, naturally, I only want the gray on half the plate).

But let’s face it: collé paper looks so much sexier than transparent ink.  You know how it is when you have a vision, and need to see that vision realized, right?

I swear I’ve seen gray collés on prints before… or was I just dreaming?

If you can help, I’d be awfully grateful.

Update:  A couple of people suggested Hiromi paper.  Looks like they have a gray gampi that will suit my purpose: http://store.hiromipaper.com/echizenshikibucoloredgampi.aspx

I’m still looking for other suggestions if this doesn’t work out.  And gosh I hope it does, because yowza, it’s expensive.  Or maybe I should hope it doesn’t?  Methinks this will turn out to be a small edition…

Further Update: I tried a white collé on gray paper.  That’s a no-go.  I have yet to try Anthea’s suggestion to print a flat of gray on some white washi paper. I’ll have to wait it for my next paycheck to buy gray gampi if that doesn’t work out.

5 thoughts on “A Question for all the Printmakers:

  1. If you can’t find a suitable paper to use, you could always make your own. That way you’ll get just the right shade of gray you wanted.

    1. Yes, that was my backup plan, but I haven’t made paper in ten years or so. And dyeing paper? Never tried that! Could be an interesting adventure.

      A local printmaker suggested I check out Hiromi paper, and they might have some dyed gampi that is the right shade of gray, but I won’t know until I see it.

      1. Sorry, I didn’t make myself clear. I meant to take a suitable paper for chine colle, say gampi, and roll it up with a suitable color. Allow it to dry and use it for chine colle.

Feel free to leave a thoughtful reply.

